Two Poems for Canadian Women Studies

Two Poems for Canadian Women Studies /les cahiers de la femme: Women and Fat Studies: Feminist Re-Visionings

Volume 35, No 1, 2. Spring 2023

Gift for Granted

Big I swagger is more fun,
finding comfort in my own
skin. I celebrate belly

button, birthing, navel of
the world, all the more to
round this mound around.

The glitch is a gift, part of
a total packet offered—to
accept the flair of fat, of fun,

an immense and funny presence.

*

When Friends Introduced Me

                                      To my future
husband, I looked into sea-green eyes
and an ice floe melted inside.

A thin wire of nerve shivered in
recognition. Was I ready to
relax age-old tension and dissolve?

Would I accept this gentleman’s offering
of which he was apparently unaware?

I knew his gargantuan belly
would soon become my own by
fifty pounds. A trade-off

I took on, fair play for
decades of martial fare.

He took this poor poet out to dinner
and I devoured every morsel.

Leave a comment