Khezr, the Hidden Prophet, and My Two Minds

Salaam Aleikum! Wondrous piece by Harold Rhenish… I know Khezr as Khidr, the Hidden One, who is also The Green One… can’t quite call him a ‘man’. See khidr.org/. Love the connection. Collectively, poets seem to be bridging a gap of the abyss over that which has not been articulated. Bravo to Harold… and Frontenac House.

Harold Rhenisch

Welcome to my new book, and it’s amazing, unexpected story. The book is Two Minds, a collection of ghazals, an ancient Persian poetic form steeped in mystic sufic tradition and pop song. There’s a story about the ghazal form, which is beautiful to tell, but first, surprise. I feel carried in the palm of God’s mind. I know, not a literary thing to say, but let me tell the story, and then you can decide. To get started, here’s the cover:

twominds

That, I told my publisher, is the Green Man of the Schönfeld Dream Palace, a kind of pre-modern theme park north of Dresden, in Saxony. I was there in 2010, and took this snap. The Green is ancient, a human figure with leaves growing from his tongue, sometimes, and from his hair, eyebrows, moustache and beard, always. The original human, in the Middle European forests, an ancient god that the…

View original post 1,011 more words

Leave a Reply

