Celebrating FOOD in National Poetry Month: HYMN TO HORMONE

HYMN TO HORMONE

I eat nut chocolate instead of carrots. I drink
caffeine straight from the bean. I don’t care
if my senses rot, cavities root in my mouth,
gnaw at my brain. I nod a refrain to be
wicked, to be wild at the expense of ordinary

sanity. The expanse of external wisdom
mounts as paper wrappers, candy wrappers,
oh sweet sweet the caress of chocolate.

While I don’t care if the sun turns
my uncoloured skin ultra-violet, the long
and the short of it is the spectrum
unannounced of the daily. In living we
are realized, we are being flushed out

of hiding our response by this reddening
cheek, the drenching of the brow in sudden
cartoon frenzies of sweat.The character is
worried. She is fretting. She is sunk.

Penn Kemp

This poem was first published in http://hammeredoutlitzine.blogspot.ca/2007/10/penn-kemp.html.

Penneats2007-11-01

Photo: Gavin Stairs

One thought on “Celebrating FOOD in National Poetry Month: HYMN TO HORMONE

Leave a Reply

